Georgie Johnson (nee Mount)

June 4, 2017

My Godmother, Georgie, was the first person to whom I came out. It was the early 1990s and I was a neurotic mess, utterly fixated by what other people might think of me. I had come of age during a time when public displays of affection were illegal and politicians blithely described gay people as phoney half-beings who did not have families. Summoning my paltry reserves of courage, I wrote to Georgie who, within 48 hours, wrote back to say, “Darling! I’ve been trying to drag you out of the closet since you were 12”.  

2 Responses to “Georgie Johnson (nee Mount)”

  1. She sounds like an amazing person and she always looks like a vogue model in pictures. I’m glad you had her in your life.

  2. Thank you! Yes – I’m glad I had her influence in my life. It was crucial. Lots of love, Cxx

Leave a Reply

